10 Historical Toys


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

Barbie Turns 60, Becomes an Astrophysicist

Barbie Turns 60, Becomes an Astrophysicist

Barbie, the ultimate classic doll, turns 60 this year. HowStuffWorks goes to the party.


Author's Note: 10 Historical Toys

If you've ever spent any time around kids, you know that they'll always find a way to play. What surprised me as I researched this article was just how long kids have played with things we'd recognize today as toys. It's staggering to think that thousands of years ago, kids made their own rudimentary versions of jacks, yo-yos and hula-hoops. One can only marvel at the ingenuity of children and their determination to find fun regardless of the circumstances.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Bass, Carole. "The Erector Set Turns 100: Real-life Magic from a Yale Doctor." Yale Alumni Magazine. Dec. 5, 2013. (Nov. 25, 2014) https://www.yalealumnimagazine.com/blog_posts/1648
  • Brewer, Susan. "Famous Character Dolls." Casemate Publishers. 2013. (Nov. 24, 2014) http://books.google.com/books?id=Y95laWk98uoC&printsec=frontcover#v=onepage&q&f=false
  • British Museum, The. "Rag Doll." (Nov. 24, 2014) http://www.britishmuseum.org/explore/highlights/highlight_objects/gr/r/rag_doll.aspx
  • Boyle, Laura. "The Game of Graces." The Jane Austen Centre. March 12, 2013. (Nov. 24, 2014) http://www.janeausten.co.uk/the-game-graces/
  • McMahon, Felicia. "History of Toys." Encyclopedia Britannica. May 15, 2014. (Nov. 24, 2014) http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/601284/toy/274906/History-of-toys
  • Patrick, Bethanne Kelly and John Milliken Thompson. "An Uncommon History of Common Things." National Geographic Books. 2009.
  • Powerhouse Museum. "Rocking Horse, 1875-1900." (Nov. 24, 2014) http://www.powerhousemuseum.com/collection/database/?irn=37763
  • Scott, Sharon. "Toys and American Culture." Greenwood. 2009.
  • Sobey, Ed and Sobey, Woody. "The Way Toys Work." Chicago Review Press. 2008.
  • Strong National Museum of Play. "Duncan Yo-Yo." (Nov. 24, 2014) http://www.toyhalloffame.org/toys/duncan-yo-yo
  • Strong National Museum of Play. "Erector Set." (Nov. 24, 2014) http://www.toyhalloffame.org/toys/erector-set
  • Strong National Museum of Play. "Jacks." (Nov. 24, 2014) http://www.toyhalloffame.org/toys/jacks
  • Strong National Museum of Play. "Lincoln Logs." (Nov. 24, 2014) http://www.toyhalloffame.org/toys/lincoln-logs
  • Strong National Museum of Play. "Marbles." (Nov. 24, 2014) http://www.toyhalloffame.org/toys/marbles
  • Strong National Museum of Play. "Rocking Horse." (Nov. 24, 2014) http://www.toyhalloffame.org/toys/rocking-horse
  • Townsend, Allie. "Yo-Yo." Time. Feb. 16, 2011. (Nov. 24, 2014) http://content.time.com/time/specials/packages/article/0,28804,2049243_2048646_2048990,00.html
  • University of Waterloo. "Bilboquet: Cup and Ball or Ring and Pin Games." (Nov. 24, 2014) http://www.gamesmuseum.uwaterloo.ca/VirtualExhibits/bilboquet/pages/