How Being A Reality Show Contestant Really Works


Lots More Information

Author's Note: How Being A Reality Show Contestant Really Works

I'm a fan of several reality shows. Despite some of the negative aspects about being on one, it just might be time to actually sit down and apply for one. My first choice: "The Amazing Race." Two teams from my home of Madison, Wis., have won the $1 million prize. Surely there can be a third ...!

Related Articles

Sources

  • ABC Reality TV. "How to get on Reality TV." (Jan. 7, 2015) http://www.abcrealitytv.com/
  • ABC Reality TV. "Reality TV Casting Calls." (Jan. 7, 2015) http://www.abcrealitytv.com/casting
  • Auditions Free. "Reality TV Audition Video Tips." (Jan. 7, 2015) http://www.auditionsfree.com/reality-tv-audition-video-tips/#
  • CBS Survivor. "CBS's Survivor Casting." (Jan. 7, 2015) http://www.cbssurvivorcasting.com/
  • Cecil, Caitlin. "A critical guide to: Reality Television." RTVF Media Studies. (Jan. 11, 2015) http://www.rtvfmediastudies.tcu.edu/Casting.htm
  • Chase, Libby. "How Much Does Reality TV Pay?" Young Money. (Jan. 7, 2015) http://finance.youngmoney.com/careers/how-much-does-reality-tv-pay/
  • Cooper, Gael Fashingbauer and Andy Dehnart. "Life on 'Survivor's' Loser Island." Today. Nov. 11, 2004. (Jan. 7, 2015) http://www.today.com/id/6285035/ns/today-today_entertainment/t/life-survivors-loser-island/#.VK2az8mGOVN
  • Cooper, Gael Fashingbauer and Andy Dehnart. "The cost of going on a reality show." Today. June 21, 2005. (Jan. 7, 2015) http://www.today.com/id/8294070/ns/today-today_entertainment/t/cost-going-reality-show/#.VK2aKcmGOVN
  • Dimitrov, Momchil. "Sue's famous Rat and Snake speech." YouTube. June 17, 2007. (Jan. 12, 2015) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aBSMBfoMVHk
  • Hare, Breeanna. "The 'real world' of reality show contracts." CNN. Dec. 30, 2009. (Jan. 11, 2015) http://www.cnn.com/2009/SHOWBIZ/TV/12/30/legal.reality.contracts/
  • Heger, Jen and Alexis Tereszcuk. "Wow, Reality TV Really Does Pay! Read How Much The Real Housewives Earn." Radar Online. June 1, 2012. (Jan. 7, 2015) http://radaronline.com/exclusives/2012/06/real-housewives-paid-salary-who-earns-most/
  • Job Monkey. "Reality TV." (Jan. 9, 2015) http://www.jobmonkey.com/realitytv/
  • Lutz, Ashley. "18 Tips For Getting On A Reality TV Show." Business Insider. Aug. 20, 2012. (Jan. 7, 2015) http://www.businessinsider.com/heres-how-you-can-get-cast-on-any-reality-show-2012-8?op=1
  • Nielsen. "10 Years of Primetime The Rise of Reality and Sports Programming." Sept. 21, 2011. (Jan. 11, 2015) http://www.nielsen.com/us/en/insights/news/2011/10-years-of-primetime-the-rise-of-reality-and-sports-programming.html
  • Rawden, Mack. "Survivor's Best Episode: Season One Finale." Cinema Blend. (Jan. 12, 2015) http://www.cinemablend.com/television/Survivor-Best-Episode-First-Season-Finale-37934.html
  • Selby, Alexandra. "Almost Famous: Life After Reality TV." Reportage Online. June 16, 2014. (Jan. 9, 2015) http://www.reportageonline.com/2014/06/almost-famous-life-after-reality-tv/
  • Shaw, Charlie. "31 Reality TV Show Contestants And Producers Answer: 'How Much of the Show Is Actually Scripted?'" Thought Catalog. Aug. 6, 2014. (Jan. 7, 2015) http://thoughtcatalog.com/charlie-shaw/2014/08/31-reality-tv-show-contestants-and-producers-answer-how-much-of-the-show-is-actually-scripted/
  • Slocum, Charles. "The Real History of Reality TV Or, How Allen Funt Won the Cold War." Writers Guild of America, West. (Jan. 10, 2015) http://www.wga.org/organizesub.aspx?id=1099
  • The Art Institutes. "Life after reality shows." Jan. 5, 2011. (Jan. 9, 2015) http://insite.artinstitutes.edu/life-after-reality-shows-30703.aspx
  • Wyatt, Edward. "TV Contestants: Tired, Tipsy and Pushed to Brink." The New York Times. Aug. 1, 2009. (Jan. 7, 2015) http://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/02/business/media/02reality.html?pagewanted=all&_r=2&

More to Explore