5 Outdoor Craft Ideas for Kids


1
Fairy Houses
Fairy houses give kids a chance to get really creative with found objects. ©Will Gray/Getty Images

A more whimsical outdoor activity is building a habitat for tiny mythical creatures -- fairies. You can use household and craft materials like milk cartons, paper towel rolls, popsicle sticks, fabric, clay, wood glue or anything else that's relatively biodegradable, but the beauty of fairy houses is that you can also make them entirely out of materials gathered from the outdoors; think rocks, sticks, bark, leaves, grasses, vines, flowers, feathers, pine cones and shells. Just be sure not to include anything that might harm animals like small plastic items or metal staples, and try to gather fallen items rather than ripping up live bark or foliage.

You can build your fairy house next to a tree or other natural barrier, in a garden or park or anywhere in your own yard, and make it blend with the surroundings. You can use a milk carton for a base, or you can go entirely natural and make walls by stacking rocks or implanting sticks or bark into the dirt. Then lay a roof with bark or twigs and make a floor with bark, pebbles or leaves. Sticks, bark and pinecones can be used to make fences, and lots of tiny pebbles make a nice pathway. Placing your fairy house over moss would make for a nice built-in floor or lawn, as well.

Get fancy by making tiny furniture out of the same materials. Flowers, pinecones and nut and acorn shells also make nice decorations. Fairy houses can have doors and windows, archways or open sides so that you can easily place furnishings inside. You can even combine this craft with container gardening and creating a fairy habitat in a planter, replete with fairy-sized plants, tiny furniture, pebble paths and the like.

You and your little ones can have fun designing, building and furnishing the dwelling, then imagining the future fairy inhabitants. Trying to give your fairy house structural integrity might help prepare your little ones for futures in architecture or engineering. But it is sure to be loads of fun, too.

Author's Note: 5 Outdoor Craft Ideas for Kids

I remember how fun it was to grow strawberries in kindergarten, both in a tiny milk carton and in our class garden outside. We also used to pick wild strawberries and onions and gather pecans on the way home from school, and run around the neighborhood smelling and tasting the honeysuckle. And I grew up in the city!

We got even more exposure to nature via my grandparents' vegetable and flower gardens, and looking through the windows at their hummingbird feeders. The quick-moving, tiny birds provided constant fascination during the right season. Although they sometimes had to fight the wasps for the nectar.

We definitely got outdoors more than most kids seem to these days, so a variety of outdoor craft and plant related projects might be just the thing to help your kids buck the couch potato trend. And they might provide a nice break from the day job for us adults, too. I know I want to build a fairy house now. Or maybe a container garden. Using a shoe. There we go. A "Woman Who Lived in a Shoe"-inspired fairy garden.

Sources

  • Aggie Horticulture. "Drying Flowers." Texas A&M AgriLife Extension. (August 10, 2013) http://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/archives/parsons/misc/dryflrs.html
  • Anderle, Beth. "How to Build a Fairy Garden House." Creativebug. (August 4, 2013) http://crafts.creativebug.com/build-fairy-garden-house-1335.html
  • Beaumont, Dorinda. "Sun Prints." Parents. (August 11, 2013) http://www.parents.com/fun/arts-crafts/kid/sun-prints/
  • Berlingo, Jen. "Sun Prints." PBS Parents. (August 3, 2013) http://www.pbs.org/parents/crafts-for-kids/sun-prints/
  • Bestgardening.com. "Kids' Project - Pressing Flowers." (August 10, 2013) http://www.bestgardening.com/bgc/hub/kidspressflowers01.htm
  • Better Homes and Gardens. "Container Gardens." (August 10, 2013) http://www.bhg.com/gardening/container/
  • Better Homes and Gardens. "Great Container Gardens." (August 11, 2013) http://www.bhg.com/gardening/container/plans-ideas/container-gardens/
  • Canadian Living. "How to press flowers and turn them into a paper card craft." (August 4, 2013) http://www.canadianliving.com/moms/fun/how_to_press_flowers_and_turn_them_into_a_paper_card_craft.php
  • Country Living. "Tips for Container Gardening." (August 11, 2013) http://www.countryliving.com/outdoor/gardening/container-gardens-0309
  • Cumberdale, Hubert. "A Kids' Guide to Preserving Flowers." ProFlowers. February 12, 2012. (August 4, 2013) http://www.proflowers.com/guide/a-kids-guide-to-preserving-flowers
  • Dube, Tommy. "Sponge Sprouts." PBS Parents. (August 3, 2013) http://www.pbs.org/parents/crafts-for-kids/sponge-sprouts/
  • Fairy Houses. "About Fairy Houses." (August 10, 2013) http://www.fairyhouses.com/about-fairy-houses/fai
  • Fairy Houses. "How To Build a Fairy House." (August 4, 2010) http://www.fairyhouses.com/about-fairy-houses/how-to-build/
  • Freedman, Lisa. "Dried Flower Crafts." (August 4, 2013) http://www.grandparents.com/grandkids/activities-games-and-crafts/dried-flower-crafts
  • Freedman, Lisa. "Fun With Summer Flowers." Grandparents. (August 4, 2013) http://www.grandparents.com/grandkids/activities-games-and-crafts/fun-with-summer-flowers
  • Freedman, Lisa. "How to Press Flowers." Grandparents. (August 10, 2013) http://www.grandparents.com/grandkids/activities-games-and-crafts/how-to-press-flowers
  • Gillespie, Spike. "How to Create a Fairy Garden in a Container." HGTV. (August 3, 2013) http://www.hgtv.com/gardening-club-fairy-garden/package/index.html
  • Gross, Janie. "Pressed Flower Gift Card with Janie." Martha Stewart Living. (August 10, 2013) http://www.marthastewart.com/265936/pressed-flower-gift-card-with-janie
  • Gross, Janie. "Pressing Flowers with Janie." Martha Stewart Living. (August 10, 2013) http://www.marthastewart.com/270169/pressing-flowers-with-janie
  • HGTV. "Bird Feeders You Can Make with the Kids." (August 3, 2013) http://www.hgtv.com/handmade/bird-feeders-you-can-make-with-the-kids/index.html
  • HGTV. "Family Gardening Club - July Project: Fairy Garden." (August 3, 2013) http://www.hgtv.com/gardening-club-fairy-garden/package/index.html
  • Home Made Simple. "Simple Sun Print Project." Procter & Gamble. October 6, 2010. (August 4, 2013) http://www.homemadesimple.com/en-US/Crafts/Pages/simple-sun-print-project.aspx
  • Horton, Michelle. "7 DIY Ideas for Pressed Spring Flowers." Babble. March 27, 2013. (August 4, 2013) http://www.babble.com/home/7-diy-ideas-for-pressed-spring-flowers/
  • Iowa Department of Transportation Enviro-Explorers Kids' Club. "Sticky Pinecone Bird Feeder." (August 10, 2013) http://www.enviro-explorers.com/pinecone_web_page/pineconefeederindex.html
  • Jett, John W. "Container Gardening." West Virginia University Extension Service. (August 3, 2013) http://anr.ext.wvu.edu/lawn_garden/herbs/container_gardening
  • Kaboose. "Pinecone Bird Feeder." (August 10, 2013) http://crafts.kaboose.com/pine-cone-bird-feeder.html
  • Ketelsen, Katie A. "Fun Containers from Salvaged Materials." Better Homes and Gardens. (August 10, 2013) http://www.bhg.com/gardening/container/plans-ideas/beyond-the-ordinary-flowerpot/
  • Kids Gardening. "Container Gardening Guide." (August 4, 2013) http://www.kidsgardening.org/node/5261
  • Laurent, Anna. "Botany + Art: Photographer Anna Atkins." Garden Design. (August 11, 2013) http://www.gardendesign.com/ideas/botany-art-photographer-anna-atkins
  • Laurent, Anna. "DIY Sun Printing on Fabric." Garden Design. (August 11, 2013) http://www.gardendesign.com/how-to/diy-sunprint?pnid=126983#gallery-content
  • Lifetime Moms. "Garden Crafts for Kids: Pressed Flower Placemats." August 9, 2012. (August 10, 2013) http://moms.mylifetime.com/how-to/garden-crafts-kids-pressed-flower-placemats
  • Lindemann, Candace. "DIY Microwave Pressed Flowers: For Your Flower Pressing Emergencies." Naturally Educational. May 9, 2012. (August 4, 2013) http://www.naturallyeducational.com/2012/05/diy-microwave-pressed-flowers/
  • Lockwood, Georgene. The Complete Idiot's Guide to Crafts with Kids excerpt. "Pressing Flowers." 1998. (August 10, 2013) http://fun.familyeducation.com/crafts/flowers/47916.html
  • Martha Stewart Kids. "Sun Prints." 2002. (August 11, 2013) http://www.marthastewart.com/273715/sun-prints
  • Martha Stewart Living. "Kids' Nature Crafts - Bookshelf Terrarium." (August 10, 2013) http://www.marthastewart.com/275439/nature-crafts-for-kids/@center/276975/marthas-crafts-kids#272741
  • Martha Stewart Living. "Outdoor Living - Decorating Ideas - Container Gardens." (August 4, 2013) http://www.marthastewart.com/274905/container-garden-ideas/@center/276985/outdoor-living
  • Martha Stewart Living. "Outdoor Living - Decorating Ideas - Decorative Pots." (August 4, 2013) http://www.marthastewart.com/274343/decorative-flowerpots-and-planters/@center/276985/outdoor-living
  • Martha Stewart Living. "Pressing Flowers and Leaves." March 2002. (August 10, 2013) http://www.marthastewart.com/265653/pressing-flowers-and-leaves
  • Martha Stewart Living. "Project - Drilling Drainage Holes." (August 11, 2013) http://www.marthastewart.com/273244/drilling-drainage-holes?czone=home/decorating-outdoor-living/outdoor-living-decor
  • Martha Stewart Show. "Pressing Flowers." (August 10, 2013) http://www.marthastewart.com/247420/pressing-flowers
  • Moffat, Annie. "Bird Feeders." PBS Parents. (August 3, 2013) http://www.pbs.org/parents/crafts-for-kids/bird-feeders/
  • National Gardening Association. "Container Gardening Guide." KidsGardening. (August 3, 2013) http://www.kidsgardening.org/node/5261
  • New York Public Library Digital Gallery. "Ocean Flowers: Anna Atkins's Cyanotypes of British Algae." (August 11, 2013) http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/explore/?col_id=188
  • Nick Jr. "Winter Pinecone Bird Feeder." (August 10, 2013) http://www.nickjr.com/crafts/pinecone-birdfeeder.jhtml
  • Ondra, Nancy. "Stunning Low-Budget Container Gardens." HGTV. (August 10, 2013) http://www.hgtv.com/gardening/stunning-low-budget-container-gardens/pictures/index.html
  • Petersen, Anna. "Container Gardening for Beginners: Fun Ideas for Gardening in Small Spaces." ParentMap. March 3, 2013. (August 3, 2013) http://www.parentmap.com/article/container-gardening-for-beginners
  • Pikes Peak Urban Gardens. "Kids Corner - Container Gardening." (August 3, 2013) http://ppugardens.org/kids_corner/container_gardening
  • Pikes Peak Urban Gardens. "Kids Corner - Sunny Spot." (August 11, 2013) http://ppugardens.org/kids_corner/sunny_spot
  • Pretty Prudent. "Cookie Cutter Bird Feeder." April 17, 2012. (August 3, 2013) http://prudentbaby.com/2012/04/baby-kid/cookie-cutter-bird-feeder/
  • Rivers, Robin. "Summer Kids Crafts -- Pressing Flowers." Our Big Earth. July 13, 2010. (August 10, 2013) http://www.ourbigearth.com/2010/07/13/summer-kids-crafts-pressing-flowers/
  • Roll, M. and C.R. Wilson. "Container Gardens - Fact Sheet No. 7.238." Colorado State University Extension. (August 3, 2013) http://www.ext.colostate.edu/pubs/garden/07238.pdf
  • Southern Living. "100 Container Gardening Ideas." (August 10, 2013) http://www.southernliving.com/home-garden/gardens/creative-container-gardens-00417000074948/page103.html
  • Spoonful. "Backyard Bird Feeder." (August 3, 2013) http://spoonful.com/crafts/backyard-bird-feeder
  • Spoonful. "Fairy Houses." (August 4, 2013) http://spoonful.com/crafts/fairy-houses
  • Spoonful. "Preserve Backyard Flowers." (August 4, 2013) http://spoonful.com/crafts/preserve-backyard-flowers
  • Sprout. "Bird Feeder House." Children's Network. (August 3, 2013) http://www.sproutonline.com/crafts-and-recipes/crafts/bird-feeder-house
  • Summers, Melissa. "Making Sun Prints With Children: Burning Daylight--Sun Print Results." Alpha Mom. July 5, 2013. (August 11, 2013) http://alphamom.com/family-fun/crafts/making-sun-prints-with-children-burning-daylight-sun-print-results/
  • Taylor, Kerala. "Bright ideas: Build a Fairy House." Kaboom. February 1, 2011. (August 4, 2013) http://kaboom.org/blog/bright_ideas_build_fairy_housetaylor
  • University of Illinois Extension. "Successful Container Gardens - How to Select, Plant and Maintain." (August 3, 2013) http://urbanext.illinois.edu/containergardening/
  • Vowles, Amy. "Simple bird feeders kids can make." SheKnows Parenting. May 20, 2013. (August 3, 2013) http://www.sheknows.com/parenting/articles/991705/easy-bird-feeders-crafts-for-kids
  • Whyte, David B. "Colorful Chemistry Creations: Make Your Own Sun Print with Color and Sunlight!" Science Buddies. June 14, 2013. (August 11, 2013) http://www.sciencebuddies.org/science-fair-projects/project_ideas/Chem_p084.shtml
  • Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources. "Cone Bird Feeder." (August 10, 2013) http://dnr.wi.gov/org/caer/ce/eek/cool/birdfeed.htm
  • Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources. "Preserving Flowers." (August 10, 2013) http://dnr.wi.gov/org/caer/ce/eek/cool/ameliaflowers.htm

UP NEXT

How to Make an Outdoor Chessboard

How to Make an Outdoor Chessboard

Your house needs an outdoor chessboard, and HowStuffWorks can help you make one. Learn more about making an outdoor chessboard.


More to Explore