Prev Next  


1993 Baseball Season

More 1993 Baseball Season Highlights

Below are more highlights of the 1993 baseball season, including Kevin Appier winning the American League ERA crown and Phil Plantier setting an all-time record with 100 RBI on just 111 hits:

  • San Francisco is the first team since 1980 Orioles to fail to win a division title despite posting 100 or more victories. The Giants' 103 victories are the most by a division or league runner-up since the 162-game schedule was adopted.

  • The Expos' 94 wins are one short of the club record of 95, set in 1979.

  • The Phils top the National League in runs (877), while the Giants lead the loop in BA (.276).

  • Atlanta posts far and away the lowest staff ERA in majors at 3.14.

  • Maddux's mound teammate Tom Glavine ties San Francisco's John Burkett for the National League lead in wins (22).

  • Seattle's Randy Johnson paces majors with 308 strikeouts, the most by an American League southpaw since 1971, when Mickey Lolich also fanned 308.

  • The National League strikeout king is Jose Rijo of Cincinnati, with 227.

  • Jeff Montgomery of the Royals and Toronto stopper Duane Ward tie for the American League save crown with 45.

  • Kevin Appier of the Royals wins American League ERA crown with a 2.56 mark.

  • Jimmy Key, the Yankees' most important off-season free-agent signing, tops the American League with a .750 winning percentage.

  • Dave Winfield collects his 3,000th career hit off Jose Mesa of the Indians.

  • San Diego's Phil Plantier sets an all-time record with 100 RBI on just 111 hits. His .240 BA is one of the lowest ever by a player with 100-plus RBI.

  • For the 12th straight season, Jesse Orosco makes at least 45 mound appearances.

  • Colorado's Andres Galarraga's .370 BA is the best ever by a first-year expansion player and the highest in the National League since 1987.

  • Galarraga's .602 SA sets record for a player on a first-year expansion team.

  • Playing half their games in "Mile High" Denver, the Rockies produce the worst ERA in majors (5.41).

  • Albert Belle's 129 RBI give Cleveland its second American League RBI leader since 1965.

  • Frank Thomas bags the American League MVP Award.

  • Juan Gonzalez of Texas repeats as the American League homer champ with 46. He also bags slugging crown with a .632 SA.

  • On September 7, Mark Whiten of the Cards clubs four homers and 12 RBI, tying Jim Bottomley's all-time single-game RBI record.

  • The Cubs' Sammy Sosa joins 30/30 club with 33 homers and 36 swipes.

  • Cal Ripken ties a loop record for shortstops when he leads the American League in assists for the seventh time.

  • Bo Jackson, playing with an artificial hip after missing all of 1992, hits .232 for the White Sox in 85 games.

  • Giants third sacker Matt Williams, after a dismal season in 1992, clouts 38 homers and logs 110 RBI.

  • Williams and Barry Bonds rip 84 homers, most by a pair of Giants since the days of Willie Mays and Willie McCovey.

  • Bonds wins his second straight National League MVP Award, vindicating the Giants for making him the most expensive free-agent signee to date.

  • Tim Salmon of the Angels parlays his 31 homers to win the American League ROTY honors.

  • Piazza's overwhelming rookie year brings him the National League's top yearling honor.

  • The Indians play their final game in Cleveland Stadium, the Tribe's home since 1932.

  • For the first time in team history, Cleveland draws over two million fans both at home and on the road.

  • The Pirates, in pursuit of their fourth straight division title, instead plummet to 12 games below .500.

  • Dodgers shortstop Jose Offerman leads all National League performers in errors with 37.

  • Lee Smith becomes the first hurler to collect 400 career saves when he finishes the season with 401.

  • Dodgers center fielder Brett Butler leads the National League in singles for a record fourth straight season.

  • Two Cleveland relievers, Tim Crews and Steve Olin, are killed in a preseason boating accident.

  • Gonzalez is the first player since Jim Rice in 1977-78 to win consecutive American League home run crowns.

To learn more about baseball, see: