Prev NEXT  


1991 Baseball Season

1991 Baseball Season Highlights

The 1991 baseball season was dominated by two of the cellar teams from 1990 -- the Braves and the Twins. The two teams went on to the 1991 World Series, providing one of the greatest matches of all time. Below, you will find the highlights from the 1991 baseball season:
  • Minnesota wins American League pennant, polishing off Toronto in just five games, after finishing last in its division in 1990.

  • The Braves, also a cellar-dweller in '90, cop their first National League flag since moving to Atlanta.

  • The Braves need the full seven games to wrest NLCS from Pittsburgh, which loses its second LCS in a row when its big hitters -- Barry Bonds, Bobby Bonilla, and Andy Van Slyke -- again fail in postseason play.

    Gaylord Perry
    In 1991, Gaylord Perry
    was voted into the
    Baseball Hall of Fame.

  • Rod Carew, Gaylord Perry, and Fergie Jenkins are voted into the Hall of Fame.

  • The Twins bag their second World Championship in five years.

  • For the first time since 1962, the World Series goes the full seven games and ends with a 1-0 verdict.

  • The 1991 World Series is the first since 1924 to go the ultimate limit -- a seven-game, extra-inning clash won by the home team in its last at-bat.

  • Jack Morris of the Twins bags 1991 World Series MVP Award after winning finale 1-0.

  • Gene Larkin of the Twins delivers Series-winning hit, a pinch single in the tenth plating Dan Gladden.

  • A base-running gaffe by Atlanta's Lonnie Smith costs the Braves a run that might have won the 1991 World Series finale.

  • Both 1991 World Series skippers, Bobby Cox of Atlanta and Tom Kelly of the Twins, are selected Manager of the Year in their respective leagues.

  • Atlanta is first major league team since the 1889-90 Louisville Colonels to win a pennant after posting the worst record in its league the previous year.

  • Third baseman Terry Pendleton of Atlanta wins the National League hitting crown (.319) and also tops the loop in hits (187).

  • Hal Morris of the Reds goes 3-for-4 on the season's final day to end up at .318, one point behind Terry Pendleton and short of the bat title.

  • San Diego's Tony Gwynn hits .317, with 11 triples and just 19 strikeouts, before an injury idles him for the season.

  • Pendleton wins National League MVP Award in the closest MVP vote since 1979. Bonds, 1990's National League MVP, is runner-up.

  • Howard Johnson of the Mets paces the National League in home runs (38) and RBI (117).

  • Johnson has 302 total bases, one behind National League co-leaders, and a .535 SA, .001 point behind leader Will Clark.

  • Dodger Brett Butler tops the National League in runs (112) and walks (108) and is second in OBP (.401).

  • Bonds is second to Butler in walks with 107 but tops the National League in OBP with .410.

  • A late-season injury hampers Clark in his bid for the National League RBI crown; he finishes with 116.

  • Padres first baseman Fred McGriff finishes season with a .522 career SA, highest among active players with at least 2,000 at-bats.

  • Marquis Grissom of the Expos leads the major league with 76 stolen bases.

  • Atlanta's Otis Nixon swipes 72 bases to set a new 20th century Braves record but is suspended for the rest of the season after failing a drug test.

  • David Cone of the Mets leads all National League pitchers with 241 strikeouts.

  • Cone ties the National League record when he fans 19 Phillies on the final day of the season.

  • Dennis Martinez of the Expos pitches a perfect game against the Dodgers on July 28, winning 2-0.

  • Two days before Martinez's gem, Mark Gardner of the Expos loses a no-hitter to the Dodgers, 1-0 in ten innings.

  • Martinez leads the National League with a 2.39 ERA and five shutouts and also ties Tom Glavine of the Braves for the National League lead in CGs with nine.

  • Glavine wins 20 games for the Braves and bags the National League Cy Young Award. The only other National League hurler to win 20 games is John Smiley of Pittsburgh.

  • Greg Maddux of the Cubs leads the National League in innings pitched with 263.

  • Reliever Lee Smith of the Cards sets a new National League record with 47 saves.

See the next page for more highlights of the 1991 baseball season.

To learn more about baseball, see: