1990 Baseball Season

More 1990 Baseball Season Highlights

The 1990 baseball season saw the Cincinnati Reds sweep the Oakland A's in the 1990 World Series in the biggest upset since 1969. Find more headlines from the 1990 baseball season below:

  • Andre Dawson becomes the second player in major league history to compile 2,000 hits, 300 homers, and 300 steals (Willie Mays was the first).
  • Seattle's Ken Griffey Sr. and Ken Griffey Jr. become first father-son duo to play on the same team in the majors.
  • Wade Boggs fails to reach 200 hits for the first time in eight seasons.
  • After the league signs huge TV contracts, ballclubs spend their excess millions on free agents.
  • Player salaries soar, with several players surpassing the $3 million mark.
  • Free agents are tending to pick their new teams based on location; many opt for California-based teams.
  • Jose Canseco signs new pact with the A's: $23.5 million for five years.
  • A's payroll averages over $1 million per man.
  • Pete Rose is sent to prison for cheating on his taxes.
  • Fay Vincent orders George Steinbrenner to give up controlling interest of Yankees because of alleged gambling activities.
  • On July 17, Twins become the first major league team to make two triple plays in one game.
  • Nine no-hitters are thrown during the season -- a new major league record.
  • California's Mark Langston and Mike Witt no-hit Seattle on April 11.
  • Seattle's Randy Johnson no-hits Tigers on June 2.
  • Nolan Ryan fires a major league record sixth no-hitter vs. the A's on June 11.
  • Oakland's Dave Stewart no-hits Toronto on June 29.
  • LA's Fernando Valenzuela no-hits St. Louis on June 29.
  • On July 1, Yankee Andy Hawkins no-hits Chicago in a regulation nine-inning game, but loses 4-0.
  • On July 12, White Sox Melido Perez no-hits New York in a rain-shortened six-inning game.
  • On August 15, Philadelphia's Terry Mulholland no-hits San Francisco.
  • On September 2, Toronto's Dave Stieb no-hits Cleveland.
  • American League wins 1990 All-Star Game 2-0 at Wrigley Field.
  • The Hall of Fame inducts Jim Palmer and Joe Morgan.
  • Ranger Rafael Palmeiro leads American League in hits with 191.
  • Mark McGwire tops American League in walks (110).
  • Toronto's Tony Fernandez heads American League in triples (17).
  • Stewart leads American League in innings (267) and CGs (11).
  • Phillie Lenny Dykstra ties for National League lead in hits with Giant Brett Butler (192).
  • Dykstra and Met Dave Magadan tie for National League lead in OBP (.418).
  • SF's Matt Williams leads National League in RBI (122), the third different Giant in three years to do so.
  • Barry Bonds tops the National League in SA (.566).
  • San Diego's Jack Clark again paces the National League in walks (104).
  • New York's Gregg Jefferies leads National League in doubles (40).
  • Cincinnati's Mariano Duncan tops the league in triples (11).
  • Houston's Danny Darwin leads the National League in ERA at 2.21.
  • New York's David Cone tops National League in Ks with 233.
  • Mets' John Franco leads the loop in saves with 33.
  • Despite a mere 91-71 record, the Reds stay in first place every day of the season.
  • Cincinnati leads the National League in batting (.265) and fewest errors (102), and is second in ERA (3.39).
  • Bonds captures 1990 National League MVP Award, while Henderson accepts the American League prize.
  • Welch wins the 1990 AL Cy Young Award; Drabek nabs the award in the National League.
  • Cleveland catcher Sandy Alomar Jr. (.290 average) is named 1990 American League Rookie of the Year, while Atlanta's David Justice (28 homers) takes the National League honor.

To learn more about baseball, see:

More to Explore