Prev Next  


1983 Baseball Season

More 1983 Baseball Season Highlights

Below are more highlights from the 1983 baseball season, including the year's Gold Glove winners and Hall of Fame inductees.

  • Dale Murphy leads the National League in RBI (121) and SA (.540).

  • Cal Ripken tops the major league in hits (211) and doubles (47); leads American League in runs (121).

  • Atlee Hammaker of Giants paces majors with 2.25 ERA.

  • The Hall of Fame inducts Brooks Robinson, Juan Marichal, George Kell, and Walter Alston.

  • Phil Niekro wins the last of his five Gold Gloves for National League pitchers.

  • Detroit's Lance Parrish wins the first of his three consecutive Gold Gloves as the American League's top fielding catcher.

  • Detroit's Lou Whitaker wins the first of his three consecutive Gold Gloves as the American League's best fielding second baseman.

  • Alan Trammell joins keystone mate Whitaker by winning the Gold Glove at shortstop.

  • Cubs second baseman Ryne Sandberg wins his first Gold Glove.

  • Oakland's Dwayne Murphy wins the fourth of six consecutive Gold Gloves as an American League outfielder.

  • Phillie Pete Rose is first the first sacker since the dead-ball era to play a full season for a pennant winner without hitting a home run.

  • St. Louis ships Keith Hernandez to Mets for Neil Allen and Rick Ownbey -- a trade which will help New York to a World Crown.

  • Braves send Rick Behenna, Brook Jacoby, Brett Butler, and $150,000 to Cleveland for Len Barker.

  • White Sox trade Pat Tabler to Cleveland for Jerry Dybzinski.

  • Cleveland sends Rick Manning and Rick Waits to Milwaukee for Gorman Thomas and two other players.

  • LaMarr Hoyt sets a White Sox record when he wins 13 games in a row.

  • Pittsburgh's Dale Berra reaches base a major league season record seven times on catcher's interference.

  • Chicago's Harold Baines sets a new American League record with 22 game-winning RBI.

  • Mets' Rusty Staub sets a new major league record when he has 81 at-bats as a pinch hitter.

  • Earl Averill dies.

  • Andre Dawson paces National League in total bases (341) and ties for lead in hits (189).

  • Butler of the Braves leads majors with 13 triples.

  • Milwaukee's Cecil Cooper leads American League in runs produced (202).

  • George Brett leads the major league with a .563 SA.

  • Robin Yount paces American League with ten triples.

  • Rickey Henderson leads American League in walks (103) and is second in OBP (.415).

  • Steve Carlton leads National League in Ks (275) and innings (284).

  • Cincinnati's Mario Soto leads National League with 18 CGs, is second in wins with 17, and also second in innings with 274.

  • Ranger Rick Honeycutt wins American League ERA crown (2.42).

  • Chicago's Lee Smith tops the National League with 29 saves.

  • Montreal's Steve Rogers paces National League with five shutouts; American League leader Mike Boddicker of the O's also has five.

  • Jack Morris leads American League in Ks (232) and innings (294), wins 20 for Tigers.

  • Ron Guidry wins 21 games and tops the major league with 21 CGs.

  • Hoyt tops majors in fewest walks issued per game at 1.07 -- which is the lowest total in the American League since Tiny Bonham's 0.96 in 1942.

  • Blue Jays break .500 for first time with an 89-73 record.

  • Reds improve by 13 games over 1982 showing, but still finish last in the National League West for the second consecutive year.

  • Phils win National League flag despite having the oldest team in majors and posting a sub-par BA (.249) and FA (.976).
To learn more about baseball, see: