1919 Baseball Season

1919 Baseball Season Highlights

Ty Cobb won his final American League batting crown during the 1919 baseball season. See more baseball seasons pictures.

The 1919 baseball season was notable not only because of the thrown World Series between the Chicago White Sox and the Cincinnati Reds but also because of the achievements of Hall of Famers like Babe Ruth, Edd Roush, Ty Cobb, and Tris Speaker. See highlights of the 1919 baseball season below.

  • White Sox win the American League flag.
  • The Reds take their first National League flag.
  • The 1919 World Series is extended to a best-of-nine affair for extra revenue, and the Reds triumph in eight.
  • Suspicions are raised that the White Sox may have thrown the 1919 World Series.
  • Joe Jackson, one of the Sox under suspicion, leads all 1919 World Series players with 12 hits and a .375 BA.
  • White Sox Lefty Williams sets a Series record when he loses three games in three starts.
  • Williams wins 23 games in the regular season.
  • Hod Eller of the Reds is the pitching star of the 1919 World Series with two CG wins.
  • The season is abbreviated to 140 games because of the war.
  • Cincinnati's Edd Roush wins his second National League bat crown in three years (.321).
  • Ty Cobb wins his final American League bat crown (.384).
  • Babe Ruth hits a major league record 29 homers.
  • Ruth also tops the American League in runs (103), RBI (114), SA (.657), OBP (.456), and total bases (284).
  • On September 28, the Giants beat the Phils 6-1 in a record 51 minutes.
  • Eddie Cicotte of the White Sox tops the majors in wins with 29, finishing 29-7 with a 1.82 ERA.
  • Cicotte tops the majors with 30 CGs and ties for the American League lead in innings with 307.

For even more highlights of the 1919 baseball season, see the next page of this article.

To learn more about baseball, see: