1902 Baseball Season

1902 Baseball Season Highlights

Addie Joss' rookie season in 1902 was a huge success and paved the way for his Hall-of-Fame career. See more baseball seasons pictures.

As previously mentioned, the 1902 baseball season was a time of great turmoil as the war between the American League and National league came to a boiling point.

The year was known for battles, both on the field and in the court room; but also for stellar performances by Hall-of-Famers like Jack Chesbro and Cy Young. Here are the highlights from the 1902 baseball season:

  • Cleveland rookie Addie Joss tops the American League in shutouts with five.
  • Pirates win the National League flag again -- by a record 27-1/2 games.
  • Pittsburgh's Jack Chesbro leads the National League in wins (28) and win pct. (.824).
  • Pittsburgh's Tommy Leach leads the National League with six homers, fewest by a leader in 20th century.
  • The A's win their first American League flag.
  • John McGraw jumps the American League in midseason to manage the Giants, but can't keep them out of last place.
  • Washington's Ed Delahanty wins the American League batting title (.376) after winning the National League title in 1899.
  • Philly's Socks Seybold leads the American League with 16 homers, tying Sam Crawford's 20th-century record.
  • Pittsburgh and Brooklyn lead the National League with 19 homers; every American League team but Chicago has more.
  • Pirate Ginger Beaumont leads the National League in batting (.357) and hits (193).
  • Cy Young again leads the American League in wins with 32.
  • Last in the American League in 1901, Milwaukee moves to St. Louis -- the American League's first franchise shift.
  • Jack Taylor of second-division Cubs leads the National League in ERA (1.33) and posts a dazzling 23-11 record.
  • George Davis of the White Sox has a .951 FA, a new record for shortstops.
  • After an erratic showing in the National League, Philly's Rube Waddell goes 24-7 and leads the American League in Ks (210).
  • Harry Pulliam is named the National League president.
  • The Chicago Daily News coins the nickname "Cubs" for the Chicago National League team.
  • Nig Ciarke of the Texas League's Corsicana goes 8-for-8 with eight homers.
  • In his American League debut, Danny Murphy of the A's goes 6-for-6 vs. Cy Young.
  • Jack Chesbro sets a record with 41 consecutive scoreless innings in the National League.
  • Cubs Joe Tinker, Johnny Evers, and Frank Chance first play together in a game on Sept. 15.
  • Chicago's Nixey Callahan no-hits the Tigers on Sept. 20.
  • The Pirates are 56-15 at home, the best home record ever in National League.
  • Boston's Vic Willis has a National League-record 45 complete games.
  • Pete Childs of the Phils has a .266 SA, the lowest ever by a player with more than 400 at-bats.
  • Cardinals Jack and Mike O'Neill form the National League's first brother battery.
  • White Sox George Davis becomes the first switch-hitter to collect 2,000 hits.
  • Sam Mertes of the White Sox plays all nine positions during the season.
  • Cleveland makes an American League-record six errors in an inning on June 2.
  • Cleveland's Piano Legs Hickman leads the American League in hits (193) and total bases (289).
  • Detroit's Ed Siever tops the American League in ERA (1.91) and is the first ERA leader to post a below-.500 win pet.
  • Honus Wagner leads the National League in runs (105), doubles (30), SA (.463), and steals (42).
  • Braves have two 27-game winners, Vic Willis and Togie Pittinger.
  • Phillie Ham Iburg sets a modern National League record for losses in a season (18) by a pitcher in his lone major league season.
  • Baltimore's Jimmy Williams again tops the American League in triples (21).
  • Red Donahue and Jack Powell lead the second-place Browns with 22 wins apiece.

To learn more about baseball, see: