10 Spin-off TV Shows That Made It Big


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

The Wild Back and Forth of Netflix's 'Wild Wild Country'

The Wild Back and Forth of Netflix's 'Wild Wild Country'

Netflix's hit docuseries has it all: cult leaders, sex, biowarfare and illegal wiretapping. HowStuffWorks talks to the directors about the wild tale.


Related Articles

Sources

  • Archive of American Television. "Laverne and Shirley." 2013. (Nov. 25, 2014) http://www.emmytvlegends.org/interviews/shows/laverne-shirley
  • Barnes, Marcus. "Revealed: The cast of famous faces who called in to Frasier's radio show with their often hilarious problems." Mail Online. April 9, 2012. (Nov. 25, 2014) http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2127301/Revealed-The-cast-famous-faces-called-Frasiers-radio-hilarious-problems.html
  • Bio. "Andy Griffith." 2014. (Nov. 12, 2014) http://www.biography.com/people/andy-griffith-9542091#the-andy-griffith-show
  • Cadet, Danielle. "'The Jeffersons': How Sherman Hemsley And The Sitcom Changed The Landscape Of American Television." The Huffington Post. July 25, 2012. (Nov. 12, 2012) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/25/the-jeffersons-show-legacy_n_1701026.html
  • CBS. "CBS's Global Hit Series Receives International TV Audience Award at Monte-Carlo Television Festival." June 11, 2014. (Nov. 11, 2014)http://www.cbs.com/shows/ncis/news-blog/1002618/
  • D'Arrio, Daniel. "The tenth anniversary of 'Frasier' proves the limits of Internet nostalgia." Salon. May 13, 2014. (Nov. 12, 2012) http://www.salon.com/2014/05/13/the_tenth_anniversary_of_frasier_proves_the_limits_of_internet_nostalgia/
  • Fox News. "FOX Turns 25: What happened to the of 'Melrose Place'?" April 27, 2012. (Nov. 12, 2012) http://entertainment.blogs.foxnews.com/2012/04/27/fox-turns-25-what-happened-to-the-of-melrose-place/
  • Friedwald, Will. "'The Simpsons.' Still Funny After All These Years." The Wall Street Journal. Sept. 23, 2014. (Nov. 11, 2014) http://online.wsj.com/articles/the-simpsons-still-funny-after-all-these-years-1411513906
  • Goldberg, Lesley. "'Private Practice' to End After 13-Episode Sixth Season." The Hollywood Reporter. Oct. 19, 2012. (Nov. 24, 2014) http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/private-practice-ending-season-six-canceled-381336
  • Hallmark Channel. "Frasier." 2014. (Nov. 12, 2014) http://www.hallmarkchannel.com/frasier
  • Harnick, Chris. E! Online. "Mariska Hargitay on Why Law and Order: SVU Is More Relevant Now Than Ever Before." Sept. 24, 2014. (Nov. 12, 2014) http://www.eonline.com/news/578353/mariska-hargitay-on-why-law-and-order-svu-is-more-relevant-now-than-ever-before
  • Huffington Post. "Law & Order; Special Victims Unit." 2014. (Nov. 12, 2014) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/news/law-and-order-svu/
  • Lin, Joseph C. "Here Are the 11 Best Celebrity Cameos on The Simpsons." Time. Aug. 21, 2014. (Nov. 11, 2014) http://time.com/3154233/simpsons-television-celebrity-entertainment/
  • McGrath, Charles. "How Many Stephen Colberts Are There?" The New York Times. Jan. 4, 2012. (Nov. 11, 2014) http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/08/magazine/stephen-colbert.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0
  • Michalski, Jennifer. "The 19 Best Spin-off Shows of All Time." Business Insider. Nov. 14, 2013. (Nov. 11, 2014) http://www.businessinsider.com/best-spinoff-shows-of-all-time-2013-11?op=1
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications. "Spin Off." 2014. (Nov. 11, 2014) http://www.museum.tv/eotv/spinoff.htm
  • NBC. "Law & Order: Special Victims Unit." 2014. (Nov. 12, 2014) http://www.nbc.com/law-and-order-special-victims-unit/about
  • NPR. "Don Knotts, TV's 'Barney Fife,' Dies at 81." Feb. 25, 2006. (Nov. 12, 2014) http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=5233933
  • Seddon, Gem. "50 Best Homer Simpson Quotes of All Time." Total Film. April 10, 2014. (Nov. 11, 2014) http://www.totalfilm.com/features/50-best-homer-simpson-quotes-of-all-time
  • Sher, Lauren. "'Laverne & Shirley' Reunion: 5 Fun Facts From the Cast." ABC News. April 26, 2012. (Nov. 12, 2014) http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/entertainment/2012/04/laverne-shirley-reunion-5-fun-facts-from-the-cast/
  • Specktor, Brandon. "Truthiness! The 14 Best-Ever Stephen Colbert Quotes." Reader's Digest. 2014. (Nov. 11, 2014) http://www.rd.com/slideshows/stephen-colbert-quotes/
  • Television Academy. "The Colbert Report." 2014. (Nov. 11, 2014) http://www.emmys.com/shows/colbert-report
  • Television Academy. "CSI, Glee, Private Practice Among 2010 Television Academy Honors Nods." March 17, 2010. (Nov. 12, 2014) http://www.emmys.com/news/news/csi-glee-private-practice-among-2010-television-academy-honors-nods
  • Television Academy. "The Jeffersons." 2014. (Nov. 12, 2014) http://www.emmys.com/shows/jeffersons
  • Television Academy. "Law & Order: Special Victims Unit." 2014. (Nov. 12, 2014) http://www.emmys.com/shows/law-order-special-victims-unit
  • TV Guide. "The Andy Griffith Show Episodes." 2014. (Nov. 12, 2014) http://www.tvguide.com/tvshows/the-andy-griffith-show/episodes/100443
  • TV Guide. "Melrose Place." 2014. (Nov. 12, 2014) http://www.tvguide.com/tvshows/melrose-place/cast/100292
  • TV Guide. "Private Practice." 2014. (Nov. 12, 2014) http://www.tvguide.com/tvshows/private-practice/cast/287953
  • TV Guide. "25 Totally Unnecessary Spin-offs." 2014. (Nov. 11, 2014) http://www.tvguide.com/PhotoGallery/Unnecessary-Spin-Offs-1072812/1072844
  • TVland. "The Jeffersons." 2014. (Nov. 12, 2014) http://www.tvland.com/shows/jeffersons
  • Zeitz, Matt Zoller. "Why 'All in the Family' Still Matters." Salon. Jan. 12, 2011. (Nov. 12, 2014) http://www.salon.com/2011/01/12/all_in_the_family/

More to Explore