10 Child Stars Who Grew Up Just Fine


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

The Sex Scandals Bringing Down Hollywood

The Sex Scandals Bringing Down Hollywood

Harvey Weinstein was the first to fall from grace, but Stuff They Don't Want You To Know examines the other sex scandals rocking Hollywood.


Author's Note: 10 Child Stars Who Grew Up Just Fine

It was actually really difficult to narrow down the list of former child stars who turned out just fine. I came close to including Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Mayim Bialik, Jonathan Ke Quan and some of the kids from "The Cosby Show"; they could all arguably be included in this list, but I only had ten spots! The two I absolutely positively wanted to include? Shirley Temple and Wil Wheaton. No question about that.

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • ABC News. "Sean Astin's Childhood With Patty Duke." July 31, 2004. (March 7, 2014) http://abcnews.go.com/2020/story?id=124246&page=1
  • Ayers, Mike. "Fred Savage's New Wonder Years." GQ. May 2, 2012. (March 7, 2014) http://www.gq.com/entertainment/movies-and-tv/201205/fred-savage-wonder-years-director-always-sunny-philadelphia-party-down
  • Biography. "Neil Patrick Harris." (March 7, 2014) http://www.biography.com/people/neil-patrick-harris-224896
  • Biography. "Ron Howard." (March 7, 2014) http://www.biography.com/people/ron-howard-9542185
  • Biography. "Wil Wheaton." (March 7, 2014) http://www.biography.com/people/wil-wheaton-21397277
  • Brumfield, Ben. "Famed former child actress Shirley Temple dies." CNN. Feb. 11, 2014. (March 7, 2014) http://www.cnn.com/2014/02/11/showbiz/hollywood-shirley-temple-death/
  • Chaney, Jen. "10 child stars who grew up in Hollywood unscathed." The Washington Post. Sept. 18, 2012. (March 7, 2014 ) http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/celebritology/post/10-child-stars-who-grew-up-in-hollywood-unscathed/2012/09/18/eb9cee0c-fe9a-11e1-b153-218509a954e1_blog.html
  • E! Online. "Child Stars Who Turned Out All Right." (March 7, 2014) http://www.eonline.com/photos/9198/child-stars-who-turned-out-all-right/295547
  • Entertainment Weekly. "26 Child Stars Who Made It." Sept. 27, 2013. (March 7, 2014) http://www.ew.com/ew/gallery/0,,20609141_20353162_21342820,00.html
  • ErdÅ‘s-Bacon-Sabbath. (March 7, 2014) http://erdosbaconsabbath.com/
  • Fleischer, Matthew. "LA People: Wil Wheaton -- Child Star, Adult Geek." LA Weekly. Nov. 26, 2009. (March 7, 2014) http://www.laweekly.com/2008-11-27/la-life/la-people-wil-wheaton-child-star-adult-geek/
  • Fuller, Jaime. "Congress once debated whether Shirley Temple was a communist. She was 10." The Washington Post. Feb. 11, 2014. (March 7, 2014) http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/the-fix/wp/2014/02/11/congress-once-debated-whether-shirley-temple-was-a-communist/
  • Gallagher, Pat. "Child Actors Who Grew Up Escaping the Underbelly of Fame." Huffington Post. Nov. 6, 2012. (March 7, 2014) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/pat-gallagher/child-actors-who-grew-up-_b_1969740.html
  • Hallmark Channel. "Sean Astin." (March 7, 2014) http://www.hallmarkchannel.com/loveschristmasjourney/cast/Sean_Astin
  • Huffington Post. "'The Wonder Years': Where Are They Now." Jan. 31, 2013. (March 7, 2014) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/01/31/the-wonder-years-where-are-they-now_n_2592904.html
  • Mannino, Brynn. "10 Kid Actors Who Beat the Odds." Woman's Day. (March 7, 2014) http://www.womansday.com/life/10-kid-actors-who-beat-the-odds-106978
  • NPR. "'Stand By Me': A Love Letter To Childhood Innocence." Aug. 6, 2011. (March 7, 2014) http://www.npr.org/2011/08/06/139025610/stand-by-me-a-love-letter-to-childhood-innocence
  • Peppers, Margot. "Ralphie all grown up: A Christmas Story's child star opens up about how he has remained grounded 30 years after finding fame." Daily Mail. Dec. 19, 2013. (March 7, 2014) http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2526500/Ralphie-grown-A-Christmas-Storys-child-star-opens-remained-grounded-30-years-finding-fame.html
  • Sean Astin. http://www.seanastin.com/
  • Schiller, Ariel. "The 4 Child Stars Who Didn't Go Crazy." CW44 Tampa Bay. July 10, 2013. (March 7, 2014) http://cwtampa.cbslocal.com/2013/07/10/the-4-child-stars-who-didnt-go-crazy/
  • Schwartz, John. "A Computer Is Also a Screen, Wil Wheaton Discovers." The New York Times. March 10, 2005. (March 7, 2014) http://www.nytimes.com/2005/03/10/arts/10whea.html
  • The Dallas Morning News. "Shirley Temple, the biggest little star of them all, dies at 85." Feb. 11, 2014. (March 7, 2014) http://www.dallasnews.com/obituary-headlines/20140211-shirley-temple-the-biggest-little-star-of-them-all-dies-at-85.ece
  • TV Guide. "Sean Astin: Biography." (March 7, 2014) http://www.tvguide.com/celebrities/sean-astin/bio/174095
  • UCLA Alumni. "Danica McKellar '98: 2011 Recent Graduate Achievement Award" (March 7, 2014) http://alumni.ucla.edu/share/ucla-awards/bio/danica-mckellar.aspx
  • Wang, Julia. "Neil Patrick Harris." People. (March 7, 2014) http://www.people.com/people/neil_patrick_harris/biography/