How Sabermetrics Works

  Prev Next  

UP NEXT

What is the fourth out?

What is the fourth out?

Baseball's fourth out is just one of the kookier rules in the not so simple U.S. pastime. Learn what a fourth out is at HowStuffWorks.


Related HowStuffWorks Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • Albert, Jim. "An Introduction to Sabermetrics." Bowling Green State University.http://www-math.bgsu.edu/~albert/papers/saber.html
  • Andres, Andy, Morgan Melchiorre and David Tybor. "Sabermetrics 101: The Objective Analysis of Baseball." Tufts University.http://sabermetrics.hnrc.tufts.edu/
  • Andres, Andy, Morgan Melchiorre and David Tybor. "A Timeline of Sabermetrics 101." Tufts University.http://sabermetrics.hnrc.tufts.edu/history.html
  • Andres, Andy, Morgan Melchiorre and David Tybor. "Sabermetrics 101 Syllabus." Tufts University.http://sabermetrics.hnrc.tufts.edu/syllabus.pdf
  • Baseball Prospectus. "Albert Pujols."http://www.baseballprospectus.com/pecota/pujolal01.php
  • Beane, Billy, Newt Gingrich and John Kerry. "How to Take American Health Care From Worst to First." New York Times. Oct. 24, 2008. http://www.nytimes.com/2008/10/24/opinion/24beane.html
  • Campos, Paul and Jonathan Chait. "Sabermetrics for Football." New York Times Magazine. Dec. 12, 2004.http://www.nytimes.com/2004/12/12/magazine/12SABER.html
  • Davenport, Clay. "About EqA." Baseball Prospectus. Feb. 24, 2004. http://www.baseballprospectus.com/article.php?articleid=2596
  • Grabiner, David. "The Sabermetric Manifesto." Sean Lahman's Baseball Archive. http://www.baseball1.com/bb-data/grabiner/manifesto.html
  • Henry, John. "Bill James." Time. April 30, 2006. http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,1187260,00.html
  • Jacques, Derek. "Value Over Replacement Player." Baseball Prospectus. May 15, 2007. http://baseballprospectus.com/article.php?articleid=6231
  • Jaffe, Chris. "Bill James Interview." Hardball Times. Feb. 4, 2008. http://www.hardballtimes.com/main/article/bill-james-interview/
  • Kelly, Cathal. "Mr. Beane's love affair with soccer." The Star. Aug. 21, 2007. http://www.thestar.com/article/248165
  • Plautz, Jason. "Steve Blass' Horrible, Terrible, No Good, Very Bad Disease." Mental Floss. June 22, 2007.http://www.mentalfloss.com/blogs/archives/6461
  • Schwarz, Alan. "The Mazzone Touch Is More Than Just Perception." New York Times. May 22, 2005.http://www.nytimes.com/2005/05/22/sports/baseball/22score.html
  • Studeman, Dave. "2004 Win Shares Have Arrived." Hardball Times. May 16, 2004. http://www.hardballtimes.com/main/article/2004-win-shares-have-arrived/
  • Wolff, Josephine. "Love baseball? Sabermetrics may be for you." The Daily Princetonian. April 18, 2008.http://www.dailyprincetonian.com/2008/04/18/20917/
  • Woolner, Keith. "Introduction to VORP: Value Over Replacement Player." Stathead. http://www.stathead.com/bbeng/woolner/vorpdescnew.htm
  • "EqA." Baseball Prospectus Glossary. http://www.baseballprospectus.com/glossary/index.php?search=EQA
  • "Fixing VORP." The Book. Aug. 14, 2008. http://www.insidethebook.com/ee/index.php/site/article/fixing_vorp/
  • "Mark Twain quotations." Twainquotes.com.http://www.twainquotes.com/Statistics.html
  • "Q&A With Baseball Guru Bill James." Time. http://www.time.com/time/arts/article/0,8599,1720044-2,00.html
  • "Rick Helling Statistics." Baseball Reference. Oct. 30, 2008.http://www.baseball-reference.com/h/helliri01.shtml
  • "The Dead Ball Era." Historic Baseball.http://www.historicbaseball.com/fea/era_deadball.html
  • "1998 American League." Baseball Reference. Oct. 30, 2008.http://www.baseball-reference.com/leagues/AL_1998.shtml

­