Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

1919 Baseball Season

More 1919 Baseball Season Highlights

Following are some of the other highlights of the 1919 baseball season, including Babe Ruth's record four grandslams in one season.

  • Pete Alexander returns to the game with the Cubs and tops the National League in ERA (1.72).
  • The Giants release Hal Chase, Heinie Zimmerman, and Jean Dubuc, and they never play in the majors again.
  • The A's finish last for the fifth straight year.
  • On July 7, Giant catcher Mike Gonzalez allows eight stolen bases in an inning.
  • Babe Ruth becomes the first to hit four grandslams in a season.
  • Ruth becomes the first to hit a homer during the season in every American League park.
  • Doc Johnston of Cleveland sets a new American League record when he collects nine consecutive hits.
  • Ed Konetchy of Brooklyn sets a 20th-Century National League record with ten consecutive hits.
  • Ray Caldwell of Cleveland no-hits New York on September 10.
  • Walter Johnson pitches a record fifth Opening Day shutout, 1-0 over the A's in 13 innings.
  • Hod Eller no-hits the Cards on May 11.
  • Joe Oeschger of the Phils and Burleigh Grimes of Brooklyn battle to a 9-9, 20-inning tie on April 30.
  • Joe Wilhoit of Wichita in the Western League hits in an OB record 69 consecutive games.
  • Giant George Burns tops the National League in runs (86), walks (82), and steals (40).
  • Gavvy Cravath leads the National League in homers (12) despite having only 214 at-bats.
  • Cards new manager Rogers Hornsby is the National League runner-up in BA (.318).
  • Chicago's Hippo Vaughn leads the National League in innings (307) and Ks (141).
  • Tris Speaker leads the American League in total chances by an outfielder for a record eighth straight season.
  • The last-place Phils are so short of pitching that Lee Meadows is the staff leader with just eight wins. ­
  • The Pirates' keystone combo of George Cutshaw and Zeb Terry both top the National League in FA at their position.
  • Al Sothoron is the Browns' first 20-game winner since 1903.

To learn more about baseball, see: