Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

10 Cooking Shows That Changed the Way We Eat


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

How 'The Simpsons' Works

How 'The Simpsons' Works

'The Simpsons' is famed for its biting humor and eccentric characters. But what makes the show so special? Find out in this article at HowStuffWorks.


Related Articles

Sources

  • America's Test Kitchen. "About Us." 2014. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.americastestkitchen.com/
  • Barefoot Contessa. "TV This Week." (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.barefootcontessa.com/television.aspx
  • Bio. "Emeril Lagasse." 2014. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.biography.com/people/emeril-lagasse-9542380#celebrity-chef
  • Bio. "Graham Kerr." 2014. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.biography.com/people/graham-kerr-9542383#profile
  • Bio. "Julia Child." 2014. (Nov. 20, 2014) http://www.biography.com/people/julia-child-9246767#mastering-the-art-of-french-cooking
  • Christiansen, Richard. "It's The Essence Of TV Viewing For Couch Potatoes." The Chicago Tribune. April 7, 2006. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://articles.chicagotribune.com/1996-04-07/news/9604070082_1_tv-food-network-friendly-rivalry-hot-tamales
  • Cohen, Arianne. "Good Eats: Behind the Scenes." The Food Network. 2014. (Nov. 10, 2014) http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/articles/good-eats-behind-the-scenes.html
  • Cooking Channel. "The Galloping Gourmet." 2014. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.cookingchanneltv.com/shows/the-galloping-gourmet.html
  • Finn, Robin. "First, Oatmeal. Later, a Massage." The New York Times. June 29, 2012. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.nytimes.com/2012/07/01/nyregion/for-ina-garten-the-barefoot-contessa-oatmeal-and-a-massage-on-sundays.html?_r=0
  • Food Network. "The Essence of Emeril." 2014. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.foodnetwork.com/shows/the-essence-of-emeril.html
  • Food Network. "Barefoot Contessa Episodes." 2014. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.foodnetwork.com/shows/barefoot-contessa/episodes.html
  • Food Network. "Good Eats." 2014. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.foodnetwork.com/shows/good-eats.html
  • Food Network. "Good Eats Episodes." 2014. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.foodnetwork.com/shows/good-eats/episodes.html
  • Helleman, John. "Living Large." The New York Times. Sept. 21, 2008. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://nymag.com/arts/tv/profiles/50476/
  • Jones, Chris. "TV chef's stage shtick not always palatable." The Chicago Tribune. Feb. 10, 2014. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2014-02-10/entertainment/ct-ent-0210-edible-review-20140210_1_alton-brown-food-network-iron-chef-america
  • KNG. "Why Do We Love Cooking Shows?" Nov. 1, 2011. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.kng.com/blog/restaurant-lifestyle-in-season/why-do-we-love-cooking-shows/
  • Lowder, J. Bryan. "Modest Martha." Slate. Oct. 17, 2012. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.slate.com/articles/life/food/2012/10/martha_stewart_s_cooking_school_reviewed_a_quietly_revolutionary_alternative.html
  • Mariani, John. "The Worst (and Best) Cooking Shows on Television." 2014. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.esquire.com/the-side/feature/best-worst-cooking-shows#slide-1
  • Markovitz, Adam. "15 for Foodies: TV's Top Kitchens." Entertainment Weekly. June 10, 2009. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.ew.com/ew/gallery/0,,20284069_20631743,00.html
  • NPR. "Julia Child on France, Fat and Food on the Floor." Sept. 1, 2011. (Nov. 20, 2014) http://www.npr.org/2011/09/01/139793130/julia-child-on-france-fat-and-food-on-the-floor
  • Padman, Tony. "Galloping Gourmet Graham Kerr: 'A lorry crashed into us leaving me paralysed.'" Express. Sept. 28, 2013. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.express.co.uk/news/showbiz/432846/Galloping-Gourmet-Graham-Kerr-A-lorry-crashed-into-us-leaving-me-paralysed
  • PBS. "Martha Stewart's Cooking School." (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.pbs.org/food/shows/martha-stewarts-cooking-school/
  • Pellettieri, Jill. "Rachael Ray." July 13, 2005. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.slate.com/articles/life/food/2005/07/rachael_ray.html
  • Pollan, Michael. "Out of the Kitchen, Onto the Couch." The New York Times. July 29, 2009. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/02/magazine/02cooking-t.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0
  • Salkin, Allen. "Exclusive First Read: 'From Scratch: Inside The Food Network.'" NPR. Sept. 19, 2013. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.npr.org/2013/09/19/223173797/exclusive-first-read-from-scratch-inside-the-food-network
  • Today. "TV's Frugal Gourmet, Jeff Smith, Dies." July 9, 2004. (Nov. 20, 2014) http://www.today.com/id/5405544/ns/today-today_entertainment/t/tvs-frugal-gourmet-jeff-smith-dies/#.VG4Dv9Yl5hc
  • TV Guide. "Good Eats Episodes." 2014. (Nov. 20, 2014) http://www.tvguide.com/tvshows/good-eats/episodes/197386
  • TV Guide. "Lidia's Italy." 2014. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.tvguide.com/tvshows/lidias-italy/videos/287038
  • TV Guide. "30 Minute Meals Episodes." 2014. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.tvguide.com/tvshows/30-minute-meals/episodes/197670
  • WGBH. "America still has an appetite for Julia Child." 2014. (Nov. 20, 2014) http://www.wgbh.org/watch/julia_child_bio.cfm
  • WGBH. "Lidia's Italy." 2014. April 26, 2013. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.wgbh.org/programs/Lidias-Italy-85?MM=1
  • Wilson, Bee. "Out of the Oven..." The New York Times. April 26, 2013. (Nov. 13, 2014) http://www.nytimes.com/2013/04/28/books/review/cooked-by-michael-pollan.html?pagewanted=all

More to Explore